Our Region

Mons

The city of Mons, the major touristic and administrative town of the province of Hainaut, provides multiple facets :

City of History with its renowned historical buildings and places of interest like its beautiful belfry , its collegiate church Sainte-Waudru, and the very nice City Hall situated on the Grand-Place, the beating heart of the city.

City of Arts with its famous museum (BAM, MMM, Abattoir, Mondanéum, Duesberg, …) and scenes dedicated to performing arts (Théâtre, Manège, Maison Folie, Arsonic, …) but also its small art galleries (Magasin de Papier, Tre-A, 7m³, …), its cinema, the Plaza Art, its multimedia médiathèque, its important Fine-Arts school (Arts²) and its newly Maison du Design.  Such a lot of Arts offering that the city of  Mons has been recognised as the European Capital of Culture in 2015.

City of Folklore with its very famous Doudou ,now listed in the UNESCO immaterial world heritage, that includes the Procession of the gold carriage and the legendary Battle of the Lumecon between Sint-Georges and the dragon.

but also a City of coffehouses providing several local beers and restaurants renowned for their delicious local specialties.

and finally City where you can simply enjoy walking to discover its old streets and charming squares or to stroll in the jardin du Mayeur just behind the Town Hall or in the place du Parc or in the parc du Waux-hall.

You ll find all necessary information to spend a very pleasant stay in the Tourism Office located on the Grand-Place or on the internet site of the Province of Hainaut or  … in your bedrooms. We ll give you also advices and suggestions to ensure you ll have a wonderful stay in Mons.

.

Mons Region

The region of Mons offers remarkable cultural heritages and touristic offers from remains of medieval castels and old chapels to slag-heaps reminding its important mining past. All of them in the middle of a charming countryside crossed by small winding roads and narrow canals.

Not to be missed :

The MAC’s (Museum of Contemporary Arts), a wonderful museum located in the impressive domain of the Grand-Hornu, an old important mining sites.

The  PASS (Parc d’Aventures Scientifiques) exploring science and society, located in an old colliery famous for its high pit-head frame.

The Parc Pairi Daïza, a 55 hectares domain where all kinds of birds and animals living in the middle of a beautiful nature.

And there are several other possibilities …

Notre Région

beffroiMons

La ville de Mons, chef-lieu de la province du Hainaut, offre de nombreuses facettes :

Ville d’histoire avec ses monuments et sites réputés comme son beffroi baroque récemment rénové, sa collégiale Sainte-Waudru et son trésor, et l’Hôtel de Ville et son jardin du Mayeur, situé sur la grand-place, cœur battant de la cité.

Ville de cultures avec ses musées (BAM, MMM, Abattoir, Mondanéum, Duesberg, …) et ses lieux de spectacles (Théâtre, Manège, Maison Folie, Arsonic, …) mais aussi ses petites galeries (Magasin de Papier, Tre-A, 7m³, …), avec son cinéma d’art et essai, le Plaza Art, sa médiathèque multimédia, son importante école des Beaux-Arts (Arts²) et sa récente Maison du Design. Un éventail d’offres culturelles tel que la ville de Mons a été reconnue Capitale européenne de la culture en 2015.

Ville de folklore avec son célèbre Doudou inscrit au Patrimoine immatériel de l’Humanité et qui inclut la Procession du Car d’or et le légendaire Combat, dit Lumeçon, entre Saint-Georges et le dragon.

mais aussi Ville de cafés offrant un large variété de bières locales et artisanales et de nombreux restaurants réputés (voir les liens) pour leur délicieuse cuisine du terroir.

et enfin Ville où il fait bon se promener arpentant son piétonnier commercial et ses vieilles rues aux belles maisons montoises alignées, où il fait bon flâner au jardin du Mayeur , sur la place du Parc ou dans le parc du Waux-hall.

Vous trouverez tous les renseignements et informations utiles pour passer un agréable séjour sur le site officiel de la Ville de Mons et sur le site de la Maison du Tourisme de Mons ou … dans vos chambres. Nous nous permettrons également de vous conseiller si vous le désirez.

La Région de Mons

La région de Mons offre également de nombreux attraits avec ses terrils, chassis à molettes et autres vestiges de mines du Borinage ou avec ses riches campagnes et forêts sillonnées par de petites routes et de paisibles canaux.

Vaut le déplacement :

Le MAC’s (Musée des Arts Contemporains), un magnifique musée situé sur le site de Grand-Hornu, un ancien complexe industriel minier de type phalanstérien.

Le PASS (Parc d’Aventures Scientifiques) situé sur le site de l’ancien charbonnage du Crachet célèbre pour son magnifique chassis à molettes.

Le Parc de Pairi Daïza, un parc de 55 hectares offrant une une journée d’émerveillement au contact des animaux sauvages en vous sensibilisant à la beauté et la fragilité de la nature.

Et bien d’autres merveilles ….

Vous trouverez tous les renseignements utiles pour une visite féconde de la région de Mons sur le site du Pays de Mons ou sur le site de la Maison du Tourisme de la Région de Mons