Our House

dsc_0313_315-compr1

We live in one of the oldest street of Mons, a pretty narrow street made of cobblestones.

The house, an old “maison de maître”, is located a bit before the top of the street, on the left side when going down. The front door, a large double door, gives access to the newly decorated entry hall. On the right of the front door, a scallop-shell shows that the house is a special stopover for the pilgrims to Santiago de Compostella.

Crossing the entry hall will get you to the kitchen, a very new, large and modern kitchen specially made to offer a practical breakfast corner and all facilities to prepare the meals for the guest-tables. A large bay-window is illuminating the kitchen and gives access to the garden.

The garden, a small and quiet haven in the very center of Mons, includes a wood terrace overhanging a small pond. A cubical metal structure gives a bit of shade sometimes welcomed in that charming garden decorated with an harmony of white and green.  A beautiful wisteria decorates the back side of the house while giving a wonderful scent during the spring period.

Parking : it is impossible to park along the Rue des Compagnons. Nevertheless we own a parking spot, closed to the house, that we can offer to our guests.

Notre maison

dsc_0313_315-compr1

Nous habitons une des plus vieilles rues de Mons, une rue très étroite, toute en gros pavés, qui se rétrécit progressivement pour donner tout au bout un passage de 2m de large !!

La maison, une ancienne maison de maître, se situe presque au sommet de la rue, sur la droite en montant. Une grande double porte de bois donne accès au hall d’entrée nouvellement décoré. Sur la droite de la porte, une coquille St Jacques pour marquer que le lieu est une halte privilégiant les pèlerins ou cheminants des Chemins de Compostelle.

On arrive à la grande cuisine moderne en traversant le hall. Une grande cuisine blanche, nouvellement conçue pour offrir un coin petit déjeuner et toutes les facilités pour la préparation de repas pour la table d’hôtes. Une grande véranda illumine la cuisine et donne sur le jardin.

Le jardin, petit havre de paix au centre de Mons comprend une terrasse en bois qui surplombe un petit plan d’eau. Une architecture métallique, un cube qui tombe, imprime une structure au jardin principalement décoré de plantes vertes et blanches. Une belle glycine décore la façade arrière et embaume le jardin au printemps.

Parking : on ne peut se garer dans la rue des Compagnons. Nous possédons néanmoins une place de parking, proche de la maison, que nous pouvons offrir à nos hôtes.